Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Surfing State Championships

Finals day of the Queensland School Surfing State Championships presented by the City of Gold Coast and Strife clothing saw all divisions hit the water at Tallebudgera Beach.  The Mark Richards Shield competition comprised both the South Coast and Sunshine Coast regions battle it out in the U16 Boys, U19 Boys and U19 Girls Divisions.  The pairing of Dextar Muskens and Hinata Aizawa from Palm Beach-Currumbin State High (South Coast) were too strong for their Siena Catholic College (Sunshine Coast) rivals in the U16 Boys.  Palm Beach-Currumbin featured again in the U19 Girls MR Shield division, however it was Coolum Beach State Highs Jaleesa Vincent and Sasha Baker combining to win on the last wave exchange of the heat.  Max Kearney and Kota Iida (Palm Beach-Currumbin State High) continued their form from earlier in the event into the final of the U19 Boys MR Shield, but were unable to overcome the performance of the Sunshine Beach State High team of Aaron Kelly and Davey Wallace.
The U19 boys individual final was represented by four different regions with reigning u16 Australian Junior Champion Reef Heazlewood (Metropolitan East) taking the title over 2014 State Champion Reif Doig (South Coast), Quinn Bruce (Presidents Team) and Aaron Kelly (Sunshine Coast).  In contrast, the U19 girls division was dominated by four Sunshine Coast competitors with Sophie McCulloch combining clean manoeuvres to outscore her team mates Jaleesa Vincent, Laura Poncini and Affy McGladrigan.
In the u16 girls Final, Sasha Baker (Sunshine Coast) was too strong for her team mate Amber Dods,  the South Coasts Pacha Luque-Light and the Presidents Team Anna Toohey.  The U16 boys final witnessed 3 surfers from the MR Shield face off once again for a spot in the coveted QLD State Team.  In the end it was Luke Glover (Sunshine Coast) finishing ahead of Alister Reginato (Sunshine Coast), Hinata Aizawa (South Coast) and Dextar Muskens (South Coast).
Champion regions were announced at the presentation with the Sunshine Coast region taking overall honours ahead of host region South Coast, Presidents Team, Metropolitan East, Wide Bay and Capricornia.  The first 3 place recipients have been awarded a spot in the QLD Junior Team to contest the National Titles in early December at North Stradbroke Island.